Close
Login to Your Account
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mornington Peninsula, Victoria, Australia
    Downloads
    Uploads

Does Size Matter?

I am no engineer just a guy with an idea who cannot not afford a designer/engineer.
    For a while, I was designing a product which included several gears and shafts, fins etc. It also had/has two housings which need to be quite sturdy, as they would take quite a physical punishment, be sealed totally waterproof, with the largest being approximately 300mm L x 100mm W x 250mm H,. Originally I believed that it would be best cast out of aluminum and started to look towards 3D printing as a way to make the dummy mold. I also thought the gears etc would also need to be machined or cast from alloy, again using printed dummies for molds.

Trying to learn a little, I love reading about all the new 3D printers and 3 printer technology (haven't absorbed much) and the one thing that stands out to me, is the print size. To me it appears the print size is fairly small and it seems the bigger you go the harder it is.
    From what I have read with some products (mostly plastics & resin), the bigger you go the more prone layers become to separation because of temperature. Also the threat of products collapsing as they are printed, plus shrinkage due to their size.

Because of my design, I have become more aware of 3D printers, how they can be used in prototyping as well as production, and while my idea/design has been all but given up on, I am curious about what types of printing is more suited to larger printers, the products used, the pitfalls and more importantly, how to get around them.

So what is your biggest print?
    How big would you like to print?
    What material/media do you print with?
    What are the pitt-falls and how do you get around them?

Downloads
    Uploads
    I cannot answer your questions, but I too have some applications that would require a larger printing area.