Close
Login to Your Account
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Downloads
    Uploads

Real uses for 3d printing - what are the benefits vs. subtractive machining.

Total newbie here. I'm exploring this site because it was mentioned on the CNC Zone forum where I have been gathering information on CNC machines. I'm trying to weigh the benefits of both processes and how they will apply to me.

My background - took high school drafting ions ago but have always been interested in everything mechanical. With that said, I've been toying with the idea of tweaking gear in one of my passions in life, fishing. I have ideas and plans for parts and luckily, I have friends that are engineers and designers to help me out.

My guess is that speed is the main benefit of 3d printing. It would be nice to have a physical part for prototype assembly but I would think accuracy may suffer and testing strength would be difficult. My task is to figure out if making a 3d print of a part is going to satisfy my needs. I may be wrong but, won't I be able to figure out how well parts fit together in the CAD process? Why would I need to make a "plastic" part to tell me that? Most all parts in the finished product will be aluminum. My original plan was to get a 4-axis benchtop CNC machine for the journey (figure it could also make some parts for my RC hobby down the line as well.)