PDA

View Full Version : How do I use Mach3 to control my Huxley 3D Printer?



crob09
12-19-2013, 11:13 PM
How do I use Mach3 for machine control instead of Pronterface? I like Pronterface but I'd like to use a parallel port with a different controller than Arduino... Is it possible to use Mach3 or EMC in place?

3DPFadmin
12-19-2013, 11:51 PM
What you might want to consider is using the spindle speed as the extruder control. Would give you a way to start and stop the extrusion, as well as control the extrusion rate. Might require that you do some translation of output codes, but that should be a fairly straight-forward text substitution which could be done using find/replace all, or by writing a small program in basic/C/other language of choice.

Joe Kumanchik
12-20-2013, 08:10 AM
I will be using Mach3 fort printer as well. My understanding is that 3d print g-code uses E axis for the extruder. I found a script for Mach3 that changes all the E axis commands to A axis. Check out this link for info.
http://cnc2printer3d.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/a-nice-guide-for-cnc-convertion/?relatedposts_exclude=528.

crob09
12-20-2013, 05:21 PM
That's a huge help, I never thought of using the Spindle control for extruding... It's nice also because this would mean that a 3-axis machine will work without having to add another Driver... brilliant.

- - - Updated - - -

Great link... Thanks!