Close
Login to Your Account
    Downloads
    Uploads

BIGTREETECH SKR-PRO-V1.2 & TMC5160hv

Dear Community

I have recently purchased the Creality Ender 5 Plus 3D printer as the starting point towards developing this printer to new capabilities.

To explain where I come from that is what drives my project. I am a naval modeler that started the project of a sailboat model nearly a decade ago. About 7 years ago I decided to use a stepper motor as a winch to control the sail of that sailboat. My goal was to be able to control the sail the way the original sailboats from the beginning of the 20th century. This required to change the length of the sheet used to control the sail by 8.3 meters on a sailboat just 1650 mm in length.

I did study stepper motor technology by using the stepRocker board from Trinamic first, later with a board that was never released by Trinamic, the motionCookie for stepper motors. The IDE already in those early days of Trinamic gave me the opportunity to do experiments with the stepper motor controlled by a Trinamic IC on a Trinamic board. Here I got aware, not only what aspects influence the performance and noise generated by the stepper motor, but also how different functionalities of the Trinamic ICs used properties of the stepper motor to implement. Many of those today do appear throughout text published about the functionality of SilentStepSticks using the TMC2208 the TMC2130 and the TMC2209.

I did operate the stepper motor I usethat has a nominal voltage of 3.6VDC with 24VDC. The Trinamic IC, when setup properly the current limit to that defined as nominal current for the stepper motor. The Trinamic functionality that uses PWM to limit the actual current through the coils of the stepper motor can even increase the current for the stepper motor by 20% for a short period of time if peak demand of torque appears and so prevent step losses and to make it possible to use weaker motors.